DAYSTAR COMPANY BOARD UNVEILS NEW COUNCIL CHAIR AS INDEPENDENT TASKFORCE COMPLETES ITS WORK

July 25, 2018... The Daystar Company Board, the legal sponsor of Daystar University has constituted 7-person Council and appointed Prof Henry Thairu as the new Council Chair.

This follows the completion of work and presentation of the Taskforce report to the Chair of Daystar Company Rev. Dr. MacMillan Kiiru, exactly three months after the Taskforce was constituted.

The Independent Taskforce, which was constituted in April 2018, handed over its report to Rev. Dr. Macmillan Kiiru at a special Chapel held at the Nairobi Campus on 24th July 2018. In his remarks, Rev. Dr. Kiiru said the new Council would be commissioned on Tuesday July 31, at the Athi River Campus. The Taskforce Chair Prof. Henry Thairu was accompanied by his vice-chair Mrs. Rose-Ngara Muraya, and Rev. Dr. Matthews Mwalw'a, representing the rest of the Taskforce members.

Speaking to members of the Management Board on July 23, and later at the Special Chapel, Rev. Dr. Macmillan Kiiru commended the Taskforce for the work it had accomplished, stating that its report contained a raft of recommendations along with timelines for implementation.

The Company has accepted the Taskforce report, its findings and recommendations, for action immediately, in the mid-term and in the long term.

Top on the list of changes expected immediately is the reconstitution of the University Council by the appointment of a new Council to implement the recommendations of the Taskforce report.

In the Mid-term, the new Council will pursue the recruitment of a new Vice-Chancellor, said Rev. Dr. Kiiru.

He also underscored the need to urgently put in place a Conflict of Interest Policy. As such, all governance members and senior staff will be required to sign and abide by statements of integrity in the conduct of University business as stipulated in the Universities Act 2012 and revised 2016 clause 64.

Also all senior members of the University will be required to sign a code of conduct that befits a Christian Institution.

In the long-term, the Council will work on the University governance instruments to ensure stability at all levels and to meet the obligations of the Commission for University Education and other government authorities.

The new 7-member Council comprises two new members, two old members and three members drawn from the Independent Taskforce. These are:

- 1. Bishop Oscar Muriu of the Nairobi Chapel,
- 2. Mrs. Nyambura Musyimi, an Advocate;
- 3. Mr. Desmond Mtula (previously chair of the Finance Committee of the old Council);
- 4. CPA Donald Odera (previously chair of the Risk and Audit Committee of the old Council);
- 5. Dr. Erastus Muriithi,
- 6. Mrs. Lillian Ogola
- 7. Prof. Henry Moses Thairu

Speaking after receiving the Taskforce report, Rev. Dr. Kiiru admitted that all University organs were guilty of what happened in the University and called on all in Daystar to commit themselves to not only say but to take action in order to bring the University to its former glory. "This institution is God's gift to us," he said.

Prof Thairu thanked the members of the Independent Taskforce for completing the assignment in the stipulated three months and the University community for giving their input to the Taskforce. He expressed confidence that the University would benefit from the report, and that Daystar would regain its glory as a Christian University, not just by name but also by action.

The Ag. Vice-Chancellor Rev. Prof James Kombo appreciated the work done by the Independent Taskforce.

The Taskforce report contains various findings and recommendations on four major areas: Student and Staff issues/grievances; Finance and Assets; Governance and Legal issues; Christian Foundation and Relationships.